National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championships

Fargo Welcomes Players In The National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championships

The Fargo Park District is excited to welcome the 700 players and coaches, as well as an estimated 500 fans coming to Fargo for the National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championships from April 11-15 at the Southwest Youth Ice Arena. Competition will take place from 7:00 am to midnight, Wednesday through Saturday and games from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm on Sunday. The biggest game of the tournament will be the Division 1 final at 7:30 pm on Saturday night.

Roller hockey is very similar to ice hockey, however players swap ice hockey skates for inline hockey skates. There are only five players active at a time, rather than the six you would see during an ice hockey game. A hard plastic puck is utilized instead of a traditional vulcanized rubber ice hockey puck, and rather than ice, roller hockey is played on a SportCourt plastic tile surface similar to ones used in indoor volleyball or basketball.

NCRHA is a non-profit and has partnered with the Fargo Park District and Visit Fargo Moorhead (FM-CVB). NCRHA was organized in 2003 and draws highly skilled players from colleges and universities all over the United States. There are currently five divisions: Division 1, Division 2, Division 3, Junior College Division and Division 4. Teams from notable universities like Penn State, Michigan State and Arizona State will be participating in this year’s tournament in Fargo.

The Southwest Youth Ice Arena is located at 4404 23rd Ave S # B, Fargo. All are welcome!  There is an entry fee for the event, but discounted event passes are available at until April 9.  For more information, call 701-499-6060 or visit